Brief History About the Schengen Area

Updated on Monday 03rd April 2017

Brief History About the Schengen Area Image
The Schengen Area was intended to control the borders of particular countries, imposing certain conditions related to the free entrance. The important agreement was signed in June 1985, and countries left outside of this area are still struggling to convince EU members they need such significant admitance. There are 26 states which are part of this project and which abolished the entry with a passport, offering free entrance for citizens at mutual borders, but strengthening border controls with the non-Schengen countries. Denmark, Poland, Germany, Belgium, Czech Republic, Austria, Hungary, Slovenia, Italy, Greece, France, Portugal, Spain, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Vatican, Liechtenstein, San Marino, Finland, Sweden, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and the Netherlands are part of the Schengen Area. Our experts in immigration in the Netherlands can provide you with information and details about the needed visas to enter the country and the rules that come with a Schengen visa.

The  1997 Amsterdam Treaty

51 declaration and 13 protocols were adopted and signed with the Amsterdam agreement by the members of the European Union (EU) regarding the immigration laws and security policies in Europe. The treaty came into force after long debates, two referendums and numerous parliament decisions of EU states. With this important convention signed in the Netherlands, the EU countries became responsible for the immigration in Europe and for the security of all citizens who wanted to travel or establish in different states, including the ones from the Schengen Area. Humanitarian work and peacekeeping were also strong reasons why the Amsterdam Treaty was necessary. Exactly like a Dutch immigration lawyer, our consultants will help you obtain the necessary visa to enter the Netherlands and to receive the permanent residence permit to legally stay in the country.

 The Netherlands and the Schengen Area

Schengen is actually a small town near Luxembourg and the story of signing the convention is quite interesting. With full agreement on the free borders from France, the Netherlands, Belgium and West Germany in 1985, the state members signed the document on the Princess Marie-Astrid boat cruising on the Moselle river. The Netherlands had a positive reaction from the beginning regarding the free entrance at the borders, renewed visa policies, the passport replacements, and only visual surveillance without stopping when crossing the border. The Netherlands (in translation lower countries) has always been a friendly country, with social tolerance above the average in Europe. Being a founding member of EU, Schengen Area, and NATO, the Netherlands is considered a powerful and stable country, where numerous people choose to relocate, of course, under certain conditions enforced by the IND (Immigration and Naturalization Service). A unitary state like the Netherlands was created with a parliamentary democracy starting with 1848 and a constitutional monarchy which continues nowadays. We remind that citizens from EU states have free admittance in the Netherlands compared to the individuals from non-EU countries who need to consider the main requirements that come with a Dutch visa to enter the country.

If you want to immigrate to the Netherlands it is best to seek for complete advice from our representatives. Please contact our team of specialists in immigration in the Netherlands for extra information in this matter.

There are no comments

Please note that URLs are not allowed in the message.